Problem trying to change name

dalyer
Contributor
Contributor

I've been using PayPal since 2001 but for some reason PayPal decided to limit access to my account for no obvious reason the other day. To fix this I need to first change the name on my account to my official name (e.g. Anthony instead of Tony). I've gone through this process twice submitting the required documentation in both cases (photo id and bank statement) but the issue is still not resolved and PayPal don't seem to be doing anything about it. It also seems impossible to log a support ticket other than about a specific transaction which is not the case here. Why on earth don't they deal with this quicker or at least provide some sort of status update? I didn't even get an email when I submitted my id documentation which is why I submitted the same info a second time asssuming that the first attempt failed or something. Really frustrating especially since even when I get this sorted I then have to tackle the account limitation issue. 

Login to Me Too
5 REPLIES 5

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@dalyer 

You can only change a name for 2 minor characters or for legal reasons so not sure your name change will be successful unfortunately but good luck.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

dalyer
Contributor
Contributor
They explain how to change it from a nickname to your official name (e.g. on passport) by providing them with the relevant id documentation (e.g. government photo id and a bank/utility/tax document). In fact they insist on me doing this before I can go through the account limitation remediation process. I've followed this process but they haven't done anything or even given a status update. Can't understand why, after c. 20 years, they suddenly have a problem with my id....
Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@dalyer 

If you don't believe me then try paypal...........scroll down to Paypal Olivias post.